Browser doesn't support javascript
Boon Island

Boon Island

2012 . History, United States . Stephen A. Erickson, Andrew Vietze

-

total

image3.7/5

171 total

Rate
Done
Save
Nope
Boon Island
😎 Sign up for free and track all your movies, TV shows and books in one place Download our app and track
everything in one place

About the book

image3.7/5.0

The wreck of the Nottingham Galley on Boon Island and the resultant rumors of insurance fraud, mutiny, treason, and cannibalism was one of the most sensational stories of the early 18th century. Shortly after departing England with Captain John Deane at the helm, his brother Jasper and another investor aboard, and a skeleton crew, the ship encountered French privateers on her way to Ireland, where she then lingered for weeks picking up cargo. They eventually headed into the North Atlantic later in the season than was reasonably safe and found themselves shipwrecked on the notorious Boon Island, just off the New England coast. Captain Deane offered one version of the events that led them to the barren rock off the coast of Maine; his crew proposed another. The story contains mysteries that endure to this day, yet no contemporary non-fiction account of the story exists. In the hands of skilled storytellers Andrew Vietze and Stephen Erickson, this becomes a historical adventure-mystery that will appeal to readers of South and The Perfect Storm.

Year:

2012

Language:

English

Publisher:

Rowman & Littlefield

Pages:

232

ISBN:

0762790792 (ISBN13: 9780762790791)

Similar books you haven’t read

A Promised Land
In Cold Blood
How the Word is Passed
Sapiens
Trick Mirror
21 Lessons for the 21st Century

No reviews for this book yet

To see the full list
download our app

friendspire logoDownload Nowpayment-wall