Browser doesn't support javascript
Creativity, Inc.

Creativity, Inc.

2014 . Business & Economics, Leadership, Biography & Autobiography, Business, Performing Arts . Ed Catmull, Amy Wallace

image 8.5

19 total

image4.2/5

83K total

Rate
Done
Save
Nope
Creativity, Inc.
😎 Sign up for free and track all your movies, TV shows and books in one place Download our app and track
everything in one place

About the book

image4.2/5.0

From a co-founder of Pixar Animation Studios—the Academy Award–winning studio behind Coco, Inside Out, and Toy Story—comes an incisive book about creativity in business and leadership for readers of Daniel Pink, Tom Peters, and Chip and Dan Heath. NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER | NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY The Huffington Post • Financial Times • Success • Inc. • Library Journal Creativity, Inc. is a manual for anyone who strives for originality and the first-ever, all-access trip into the nerve center of Pixar Animation—into the meetings, postmortems, and “Braintrust” sessions where some of the most successful films in history are made. It is, at heart, a book about creativity—but it is also, as Pixar co-founder and president Ed Catmull writes, “an expression of the ideas that I believe make the best in us possible.” For nearly twenty years, Pixar has dominated the world of animation, producing such beloved films as the Toy Story trilogy, Monsters, Inc., Finding Nemo, The Incredibles, Up, WALL-E, and Inside Out, which have gone on to set box-office records and garner thirty Academy Awards. The joyousness of the storytelling, the inventive plots, the emotional authenticity: In some ways, Pixar movies are an object lesson in what creativity really is. Here, in this book, Catmull reveals the ideals and techniques that have made Pixar so widely admired—and so profitable. As a young man, Ed Catmull had a dream: to make the first computer-animated movie. He nurtured that dream as a Ph.D. student at the University of Utah, where many computer science pioneers got their start, and then forged a partnership with George Lucas that led, indirectly, to his co-founding Pixar in 1986. Nine years later, Toy Story was released, changing animation forever. The essential ingredient in that movie’s success—and in the thirteen movies that followed—was the unique environment that Catmull and his colleagues built at Pixar, based on leadership and management philosophies that protect the creative process and defy convention, such as: • Give a good idea to a mediocre team, and they will screw it up. But give a mediocre idea to a great team, and they will either fix it or come up with something better. • If you don’t strive to uncover what is unseen and understand its nature, you will be ill prepared to lead. • It’s not the manager’s job to prevent risks. It’s the manager’s job to make it safe for others to take them. • The cost of preventing errors is often far greater than the cost of fixing them. • A company’s communication structure should not mirror its organizational structure. Everybody should be able to talk to anybody.

Year:

2014

Language:

English

Publisher:

Random House Publishing Group

Pages:

368

ISBN:

0812993012 (ISBN13: 9780812993011)

Similar books you haven’t read

The Ride of a Lifetime
Steve Jobs
Elon Musk
Agatha Christie’s Poirot: The Greatest Detective in the World
Lean in
One Up On Wall Street

Reviews

image

Morten Schroeder image

9 months ago

image7

I really wanted to like this more but it just got a bit too instructional and textbook’ish and had wished for more about Pixar as a company. The first half is best and the second half becomes a bit slow

No reviews for this book yet

To see the full list
download our app

friendspire logoDownload Nowpayment-wall