Browser doesn't support javascript
Last Night in the OR

Last Night in the OR

2015 . Biography & Autobiography, Personal Memoirs, Medical (incl. Patients), Science, Life Sciences . Bud Shaw

-

total

image4.0/5

4 total

Rate
Done
Save
Nope
Last Night in the OR
😎 Sign up for free and track all your movies, TV shows and books in one place Download our app and track
everything in one place

About the book

For readers of Henry Marsh's Do No Harm, Paul A. Ruggieri's Confessions of a Surgeon, and Atul Gawande's Better, a pioneering surgeon shares memories from a life in one of surgery’s most demanding fields The 1980s marked a revolution in the field of organ transplants, and Bud Shaw, M.D., who studied under Tom Starzl in Pittsburgh, was on the front lines. Now retired from active practice, Dr. Shaw relays gripping moments of anguish and elation, frustration and reward, despair and hope in his struggle to save patients. He reveals harshly intimate moments of his medical career: telling a patient's husband that his wife has died during surgery; struggling to complete a twenty-hour operation as mental and physical exhaustion inch closer and closer; and flying to retrieve a donor organ while the patient waits in the operating room. Within these more emotionally charged vignettes are quieter ones, too, like growing up in rural Ohio, and being awakened late at night by footsteps in the hall as his father, also a surgeon, slipped out of the house to attend to a patient in the ER. In the tradition of Mary Roach, Jerome Groopman, Eric Topol, and Atul Gawande, Last Night in the OR is an exhilarating, fast-paced, and beautifully written memoir, one that will captivate readers with its courage, intimacy, and honesty.

Year:

2015

Language:

English

Publisher:

Penguin

Pages:

304

ISBN:

0698187415 (ISBN13: 9780698187412)

Similar books you haven’t read

Into the Magic Shop
This is Going to Hurt
Hidden Valley Road
Twas The Nightshift Before Christmas
Brief Answers to the Big Questions
Sapiens

No reviews for this book yet

To see the full list
download our app

friendspire logoDownload Nowpayment-wall