Browser doesn't support javascript
The Everybody Ensemble

The Everybody Ensemble

2021 . Nature, Essays, Animals, Science, Life Sciences . Amy Leach

-

total

image3.7/5

58 total

Rate
Done
Save
Nope
The Everybody Ensemble
😎 Sign up for free and track all your movies, TV shows and books in one place Download our app and track
everything in one place

About the book

image3.7/5.0

In short, gloriously inventive essays, Whiting Award-winning author Amy Leach's The Everybody Ensemble invites us to see and celebrate our oddball, interconnected world Humans, please turn your guns into kazoos. Are you feeling dismay, despair, disillusion? Need a break from the ho-hum, the hopeless, and the hurtful? Feel certain that there’s a version of our world that doesn’t break down into tiny categories of alliance but brings everybody together into one clattering, sometimes discordant but always welcoming chorus of glorious pandemonium? Amy Leach, the celebrated author of the transcendent Things That Are, invites you into The Everybody Ensemble, an effervescent tonic of a book. These short, wildly inventive essays are filled with praise songs, poetry, ingenious critique, soul-lifting philosophy, music theory, and whimsical but scientific trips into nature. Here, you will meet platypuses, Tycho Brahe and his moose, barnacle goslings, medieval mystics, photosynthetic bacteria, and a wholly fresh representation of the biblical Job. Equal parts call to reason and to joy, this book is an irrepressible celebration of our oddball, interconnected world. The Everybody Ensemble delivers unexpected wisdom and a wake-up call that sounds from within. For readers of Ross Gay, Eula Biss, Anne Lamott, Annie Dillard, Ralph Waldo Emerson, and even Lewis Carroll, these twenty-four essays will be a perfect match.

Year:

2021

Language:

English

Publisher:

Farrar, Straus and Giroux

Pages:

208

ISBN:

0374722196 (ISBN13: 9780374722197)

Similar books you haven’t read

The Rise and Fall of the Dinosaurs
Sapiens
The Sound of a Wild Snail Eating
The Soul of an Octopus
Why We Sleep
The Hidden Life of Trees

No reviews for this book yet

To see the full list
download our app

friendspire logoDownload Nowpayment-wall