Browser doesn't support javascript
The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue

The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue

2020 . Fiction, Fantasy, Literary . V. E. Schwab

image 9.1

1,273 total

image4.2/5

716K total

Rate
Done
Save
Nope
The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue
😎 Sign up for free and track all your movies, TV shows and books in one place Download our app and track
everything in one place

About the book

image4.2/5.0

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER USA TODAY BESTSELLER NATIONAL INDIE BESTSELLER THE WASHINGTON POST BESTSELLER Recommended by Entertainment Weekly, Real Simple, NPR, Slate, and Oprah Magazine #1 Library Reads Pick—October 2020 #1 Indie Next Pick—October 2020 BOOK OF THE YEAR (2020) FINALIST—Book of The Month Club A “Best Of” Book From: Oprah Mag * CNN * Amazon * Amazon Editors * NPR * Goodreads * Bustle * PopSugar * BuzzFeed * Barnes & Noble * Kirkus Reviews * Lambda Literary * Nerdette * The Nerd Daily * Polygon * Library Reads * io9 * Smart Bitches Trashy Books * LiteraryHub * Medium * BookBub * The Mary Sue * Chicago Tribune * NY Daily News * SyFy Wire * Powells.com * Bookish * Book Riot * Library Reads Voter Favorite * In the vein of The Time Traveler’s Wife and Life After Life, The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue is New York Times bestselling author V. E. Schwab’s genre-defying tour de force. A Life No One Will Remember. A Story You Will Never Forget. France, 1714: in a moment of desperation, a young woman makes a Faustian bargain to live forever—and is cursed to be forgotten by everyone she meets. Thus begins the extraordinary life of Addie LaRue, and a dazzling adventure that will play out across centuries and continents, across history and art, as a young woman learns how far she will go to leave her mark on the world. But everything changes when, after nearly 300 years, Addie stumbles across a young man in a hidden bookstore and he remembers her name. Also by V. E. Schwab Shades of Magic A Darker Shade of Magic A Gathering of Shadows A Conjuring of Light Villains Vicious Vengeful

Year:

2020

Language:

English

Publisher:

Tom Doherty Associates

Pages:

448

ISBN:

0765387565 (ISBN13: 9780765387561)

Similar books you haven’t read

The Night Circus
Piranesi
Kafka on the Shore
The Alchemist
The Song of Achilles
A Darker Shade of Magic

Reviews

DN

Dara Nikolova

1 year ago

image5

Overrated. Too long. Liked the characters to start but they became annoying over time... so much unrealized potential

image

Charlotte Barron

7 months ago

image9

Quite a slow start but once it got into it, this book was amazing. The characters were so lovable and the story was beautiful. It did take a while to kick off but once it did, it was hard to put down.

image

Publishers Weekly image

1 year ago

image9

Schwab (the Shades of Magic series) crafts the tale of one woman’s desperate drive to be remembered into a triumphant exploration of love and loss. The story hops across time as it follows the life of Adeline “Addie” LaRue from the French country side in the early 1700s to New York City in 2014. As a young woman, Addie makes a deal with the devil to save herself from the tedium of an arranged marriage, asking for “a chance to live and be free.” The devil grants her immortality but curses her to a life of horrible isolation: no one she meets will be able to remember her. The first half of the book––as Addie learns the limits and loneliness of her curse––is as devastating as it is prescient in these self-isolating times. Which makes Addie’s eventual meeting with Henry, the first person to remember her in some 300 years, all the more joyous. This sweeping fantasy is as much a love story as it is a tribute to storytelling, art, and inspiration. Schwab’s diverse cast is beautifully rendered, and the view of human connection on offer is biting and bitter, yet introspective and sweet. This ambitious and hopeful work is a knockout.

image

Maria Ivanka

1 year ago

image7

Really slow but when you finally get to the second half, I promise you won’t wanna put it down

image

New York Times Best Sellers image

2 years ago

image10

A Faustian bargain comes with a curse that affects the adventure Addie LaRue has across centuries.

image

Sammi LH

2 months ago

image7

I loved the idea of this book so much. Parts were beautiful

image

Chloe Marjot

4 months ago

image4

Whether by artistic choice or by lack in of trying the words in this book are as empty and lifeless as the deal Addie makes with the devil. The concept of this book is striking and clever yet it is missing something so important that makes a book so special and memorable. Although this is a book to study and admire. Art is so fickle and I think in this case it really is in the eye of the beholder. Still a good read.

image

Milly Upton

7 months ago

image9

If you’re looking for a character driven stand alone fantasy, this is it. So beautifully written and well thought out. Loved it.

image

katie anderson

8 months ago

image10

i get heartsick when i think about this book. she ate.

image

Madison B

8 months ago

image7

the writing is so beautiful and the book was so enjoyable even if i hated the ending 😭

image

naila hasnuryadi

8 months ago

image7

Enchanting writing, good plotline, ending felt cliche and made me compare it to a fan fiction which isn’t necessarily a bad thing but I don’t buy books to read fan fiction, if I wanted to do that I’d go on AO3.

image

Kayla Dubon

9 months ago

image5

It was okay but a bit repetitive and not as engaging as I hoped.

image

Tafadzwa Mokgwathi

9 months ago

image6

A story of love lost and found. The ending could have been better, rather than straddling the line it should have stayed a happy ending or a true sad ending.

image

Isa Fernandez

10 months ago

image10

stunning. I wish I could read it for the first time all over again. in my top five books ever read

image

Sean verona

11 months ago

image7

heartbreaking indeed but somehow the story of addie larue felt incomplete like i needed more of it…more of addie & henry

image

April Teoh

11 months ago

image10

Helped change my perspective on life in a way. The way the story was told was intriguing the entire time.

image

Rogue Blackwood

11 months ago

image10

This is one of my top favorites of all time. It's the perfect atmosphere for fall! And yes, I cried like a baby at the end!

MR

Martina Rivillo

1 year ago

image7

A little slow for me, but so freaking beautiful, the end had me crying so bad

image

angela zekirovski

1 year ago

image9

The first half is really slow but the second half is really good. It is heartbreaking in a good way.

image

Nathalia Frangiosi

1 year ago

image10

Oh to live in a reality like this. The author truly knows how write. Such a beautiful story. So far my favourite book ✨

Bc

Book critic

1 year ago

image10

Best book I have read in 10 years. Great story through history. Couldn’t stop reading

image

Cailin Cowley

1 year ago

image10

Sooo beautifully written. All about living life to the fullest and is bittersweet.

image

C

5 months ago

image8

<3<3<3 I was in love!

ND

Nour Dabbous

5 months ago

image9

This book is kinda boring but it has a good story

image

Melissa Milligan

9 months ago

image2

The main character annoyed me the whole time

image

Ollie Culkin

10 months ago

image6

Should be classed as young adult

image

Josie Beth

11 months ago

image10

AMAZING it’s so good, it is very long though

image

Emma Streets

11 months ago

image9

Victoria schwab can do no wrong in my eyes.

image

Chloe Roberts

1 year ago

image9

history in this is amazing and intriguing

image

Ana Luisa Machado

1 year ago

image7

A little slow at the beginning but it’s great!

To see the full list
download our app

friendspire logoDownload Nowpayment-wall