Browser doesn't support javascript
The Midwife

The Midwife

2022 . Fiction, Historical, Women, Medical . Tricia Cresswell

-

total

image5.0/5

1 total

Rate
Done
Save
Nope
The Midwife

About the book

A haunting and moving debut, The Midwife by Tricia Cresswell is perfect for fans of The Familiars and The Binding. 1838. After a violent storm, a woman is found alone, naked and near death, on the Northumberland moors. She has no memory of who she is or how she got there. But she can remember how to help a woman in labour and how to expertly dress a wound, and can speak fluent French. With the odds against her, a penniless single woman, she starts to build her life from scratch, using her skills to help other women around her. She finds a happy place in the world. Until tragedy strikes, and she must run for her life . . . In London, Dr Borthwick lives a solitary life working as an accoucheur dealing with mothers and babies in the elegant homes of high society together with his midwife, Mrs Bates, and volunteering in the slums of the Devil’s Acre alongside a young widow, Eleanor Johnson. His professional reputation is spotless and he keeps his private life just as clean, isolating himself from any new acquaintances. But he is harbouring a dark secret from his past – one that threatens to spill over everything.

Year:

2022

Language:

English

Publisher:

Pan Macmillan

Pages:

400

ISBN:

1529066840 (ISBN13: 9781529066845)

Similar books you haven’t read

Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo
The Nightingale
The Giver of Stars
The Book of Lost Names
The Jane Austen Society
The Island of Sea Women

No reviews for this book yet

Download our free app
and get personalized
recommendations

🍿Movies

πŸ“šBooks

πŸ“ΊTV shows

πŸŽ™Podcasts

Oh hey there πŸ‘‹

To take that action, you gotta
download Friendspire or
log in to your account