Browser doesn't support javascript
When the Sky Falls

When the Sky Falls

2022 . Juvenile Fiction, Historical, Animals, Social Themes . Phil Earle

image 10.0

1 total

Rate
Done
Save
Nope
When the Sky Falls
😎 Sign up for free and track all your movies, TV shows and books in one place Download our app and track
everything in one place

About the book

A boy and a gorilla create an unbelievable bond in this powerful WWII tale for young readers, for fans of Alan Gratz and Michael Morpugo. β€œA wonderful story of hurt, kindness, and what it means to be human in an inhumane world.” -The Times of London, Children's Book of the Year In 1940, with his father off to war, Joseph is sent on a train out of his British town into the care of Mrs. F., a gruff woman with no great fondness for children. But he soon discovers her softer side when she takes him to the rundown city zoo and he learns she is the only one who ever checks in on it. Many of the animals have escaped, been released, or have sadly starved . . . but not Adonis, a huge silverback gorilla. Adonis is strong and ferocious-and a danger to the whole city if a bomb should fall and damage the fence that keeps him in. But as Joseph struggles in his new school and starts to spend more time at the zoo, he finds, unexpectedly, Adonis becoming a loyal new friend. From acclaimed author Phil Earle comes a touching historical fiction story of how a boy and a gorilla find redemption in each other amid the toughest of circumstances. Children's Fiction Book of the Year Winner at the British Book Awards

Year:

2022

Language:

English

Publisher:

Bloomsbury Publishing USA

Pages:

320

ISBN:

1547609834 (ISBN13: 9781547609833)

Similar books you haven’t read

War Horse
The Book Thief
Clockwork Angel
Clockwork Prince
Oath Breaker
Spirit Walker

Reviews

No reviews for this book yet

To see the full list
download our app

friendspire logoDownload Nowpayment-wall