Browser doesn't support javascript
115 of the Best Young Adult Books of All Time

115 of the Best Young Adult Books of All Time

By Reedsy

0/115 rated

About the list

This book list was crafted for you by Friendspire on 30 October 2020 based on a list by Reedsy.

Ever wonder what makes reading so special? Maybe it's the smell of an old paperback or the weight of its pages. Whatever it is, reading has the ability to take us somewhere else entirely. Whether it's through historical novels or fantasy, there's nothing better than getting lost in a book. Of course, you can always watch the film v
... Read more

Go to original article
image`
saved
rate

A Wrinkle in Time Movie Tie-In Edition

image 6.8

2017 | Madeleine L'Engle

Rated by 10 people

A movie tie-in edition to the upcoming major motion picture, now including an introduction by director Ava DuVernay. In 1962, Madeleine L’Engle debuted her novel A Wrinkle in Time, which would go on to win the 1963 Newbery Medal. Bridging science and fantasy, darkness and light, fear and friendship, the story became a classic of children’s literature and is beloved around the world. Now Disney is taking it to the silver screen! With an all-star cast that includes Oprah Winfrey, Reese Witherspoon, Mindy Kaling, Chris Pine, and newcomer Storm Reid, the major motion picture bring the world of Wrinkle to life for a new generation of fans. This movie tie-in edition of the timeless novel features the complete, unabridged original text; an introduction by the film’s director, Ava DuVernay (Selma); and eight pages of photos from the movie. This title has Common Core connections. Praise for A Wrinkle in Time: "One of America’s most beloved stories." —Andrew Liptak in Kirkus “A coming of age fantasy story that sympathizes with typical teen girl awkwardness and insecurity, highlighting courage, resourcefulness and the importance of family ties as key to overcoming them.” —Carol Platt Liebau, author, in the New York Post “An exhilarating experience.” —Kirkus Reviews “This imaginative book will be read for a long time into the future.” —Children's Literature “A Wrinkle in Time is one of my favorite books of all time. I've read it so often, I know it by heart. Meg Murry was my hero growing up. I wanted glasses and braces and my parents to stick me in an attic bedroom. And I so wanted to save Charles Wallace from IT.” —Meg Cabot “A book that every young person should read, a book that provides a road map for seeking knowledge and compassion even at the worst of times, a book to make the world a better place.” —Cory Doctorow “[L'Engle's] work is one of the things that made me a writer, a science fiction and fantasy fan, an avid reader. Hers were the first books I read that mixed math and magic, the quest and the quantum.” —Scott Westerfeld “A Wrinkle in Time taught me that you can tackle even the deepest and most slippery concepts of physics and philosophy in fiction for young readers. It's a great lesson for all writers, and a tough tesseract to follow.” —David Lubar

saved
rate
image`
saved
rate

All the Bright Places

image 8.1

2015 | Jennifer Niven

Rated by 145 people

"A do not miss for fans of Eleanor and Park and The Fault in Our Stars, and basically anyone who can breathe."--Justine Magazine A New York Times bestseller Soon to be a major motion picture starring Elle Fanning! Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him. Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister's recent death. When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it's unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It's only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who's not such a freak after all. And it's only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet's world grows, Finch's begins to shrink. This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Gayle Forman, Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven. “At the heart—a big one—of “All the Bright Places” lies a charming love story about this unlikely and endearing pair of broken teenagers.” — New York Times Book Review “…this heartbreaking love story about two funny, fragile, and wildly damaged high school kids named Violet and Finch is worth reading. Niven is a skillful storyteller who never patronizes her characters—or her audience.” — Entertainment Weekly

saved
rate
image`
saved
rate

All the Walls of Belfast

2019 | Sarah Carlson

The Carnival at Bray meets West Side Story in Sarah Carlson's powerful YA debut; set in post-conflict Belfast (Northern Ireland), alternating between two teenagers, both trying to understand their past and preserve their future. Seventeen-year-olds, Fiona and Danny must choose between their dreams and the people they aspire to be. Fiona and Danny were born in the same hospital. Fiona's mom fled with her to the United States when she was two, but, fourteen years after the Troubles ended, a forty-foot-tall peace wall still separates her dad's Catholic neighborhood from Danny's Protestant neighborhood. Fiona was about to start a summer job to pay for a field study, her golden ticket into MIT. But then a letter from her allegedly deadbeat dad reveals he's always wanted to be in her life. Fiona returns to Belfast, where she learns the bloody truth her mother sheltered her from--her seemingly sweet father was a bomb maker for the Irish Republican Army during the Troubles. Now there's only one person Fiona can count on, her older half-brother, Patrick. Danny's alcoholic father wants him to join the Loyalist paramilitary like him, but Danny dreams of making his deceased mother proud by becoming a nurse in the British Army. To reach his officer test and escape his father's abubse forever, Danny must find a way to earn a hundred twenty quid for a plane ticket without getting a criminal conviction. And make sure his father doesn't discover his plan. After chance brings Fiona and Danny together, their love of the band Fading Stars, big dreams, and desire to run away from their families unites them. Danny and Fiona must help one another overcome the burden of their parents' pasts. But one ugly truth might shatter what they have...

saved
rate
crosss

Download our app and

discover great

  • movie
  • TV show
  • book
  • podcast
  • food & drink
  • movie
  • TV show
  • book
  • podcast
  • food & drink
  • movie
  • TV show
  • book
  • podcast
  • food & drink
  • movie
  • TV show
  • book
  • podcast
  • food & drink
  • movie
  • TV show
  • book
  • podcast
  • food & drink

recommendations

r