Browser doesn't support javascript
12 Gripping Stories for Readers Who Love Suspenseful Books Like Girl With The Dragon Tattoo

12 Gripping Stories for Readers Who Love Suspenseful Books Like Girl With The Dragon Tattoo

By off the shelf

0/13 rated

About the list

Steig Larsson’s Millennium series, starring Lisbeth Salander, the titular girl with the dragon tattoo, are some all time favorites. So many of us have blazed through the original trilogy multiple times and it feels fresh and exciting on every read. There's so much appreciation for the complex, bad-ass female protagonist with a dark past, the suspense and mystery, the hacker underworld, and the disgraced journalist searching for redemption. If you loved the series and are looking for your next re... Read more

Go to original article
image`
saved
rate

The Spellman Files

image 8.0

2007 | Lisa Lutz

Rated by 1 people

From the award-winning author of The Passenger comes the first novel in the hilarious Spellman Files mystery series featuring Isabel “Izzy” Spellman (part Nancy Drew, part Dirty Harry) and her highly functioning yet supremely dysfunctional family of private investigators. Meet Isabel “Izzy” Spellman, private investigator. This twenty-eight-year-old may have a checkered past littered with romantic mistakes, excessive drinking, and creative vandalism; she may be addicted to Get Smart reruns and prefer entering homes through windows rather than doors—but the upshot is she’s good at her job as a licensed private investigator with her family’s firm, Spellman Investigations. Invading people’s privacy comes naturally to Izzy. In fact, it comes naturally to all the Spellmans. If only they could leave their work at the office. To be a Spellman is to snoop on a Spellman; tail a Spellman; dig up dirt on, blackmail, and wiretap a Spellman. Izzy walks an indistinguishable line between Spellman family member and Spellman employee. Duties include: completing assignments from the bosses, aka Mom and Dad (preferably without scrutiny); appeasing her chronically perfect lawyer brother (often under duress); setting an example for her fourteen-year-old sister, Rae (who’s become addicted to “recreational surveillance”); and tracking down her uncle (who randomly disappears on benders dubbed “Lost Weekends”). But when Izzy’s parents hire Rae to follow her (for the purpose of ascertaining the identity of Izzy’s new boyfriend), Izzy snaps and decides that the only way she will ever be normal is if she gets out of the family business. But there’s a hitch: she must take one last job before they’ll let her go—a fifteen-year-old, ice-cold missing person case. She accepts, only to experience a disappearance far closer to home, which becomes the most important case of her life.

saved
rate
Download
our app