Browser doesn't support javascript
8 Alluring Books Like Mistborn

8 Alluring Books Like Mistborn

By Books Like This One

0/9 rated

About the list

Friendspire handpicked this based on a list by Books Like This One on 25 January 2021.

Reading is one of those hobbies that tends to stay with you for life. Sure, we might start reading children's books like Clifford The Big Red Dog, but as we get older, so too do the books we read. It starts with a simple book, then it progresses to young adult novels, biographies, and classics. Reading takes us out of our daily lives and st
... Read more

Go to original article

About the book: Each year the magicians of Imardin gather together to purge the city streets of vagrants, urchins and miscreants. Masters of the disciplines of magic, they know that no one can oppose them. But their protective shield is not as impenetrable as they believe. Sonea, angry, frustrated and outraged by the treatment of her family and friends, hurls a stone at the shield, putting all her rage behind it. To the amazement of all who bear witness, the stone passes unhindered through the barrier and renders a magician unconscious. The guild's worst fear has been realised ... There is an untrained magician loose on the streets. She must be found before her uncontrolled powers unleash forces that will destroy both her, and the city that is her home. THE MAGICIANS' GUILD is a blistering new fantasy adventure from a debut author skilled in both world-building and storytelling. The trilogy continues with THE NOVICE (Aug '04) and THE HIGH LORD (Feb '05).

About the book: Inquisitor Glokta, a crippled and increasingly bitter relic of the last war, former fencing champion turned torturer extraordinaire, is trapped in a twisted and broken body - not that he allows it to distract him from his daily routine of torturing smugglers. Nobleman, dashing officer and would-be fencing champion Captain Jezal dan Luthar is living a life of ease by cheating his friends at cards. Vain, shallow, selfish and self-obsessed, the biggest blot on his horizon is having to get out of bed in the morning to train with obsessive and boring old men. And Logen Ninefingers, an infamous warrior with a bloody past, is about to wake up in a hole in the snow with plans to settle a blood feud with Bethod, the new King of the Northmen, once and for all - ideally by running away from it. But as he's discovering, old habits die really, really hard indeed... ...especially when Bayaz gets involved. A bald old man with a terrible temper and a pathetic assistant, he could be the First of the Magi, he could be a spectacular fraud, but whatever he is, he's about to make the lives of Glotka, Jezal and Logen a whole lot more difficult...

About the book: Katsa has been able to kill a man with her bare hands since she was eight—she’s a Graceling, one of the rare people in her land born with an extreme skill. As niece of the king, she should be able to live a life of privilege, but Graced as she is with killing, she is forced to work as the king’s thug. She never expects to fall in love with beautiful Prince Po. She never expects to learn the truth behind her Grace—or the terrible secret that lies hidden far away . . . a secret that could destroy all seven kingdoms with words alone. With elegant, evocative prose and a cast of unforgettable characters, debut author Kristin Cashore creates a mesmerizing world, a death-defying adventure, and a heart-racing romance that will consume you, hold you captive, and leave you wanting more.

About the book: Guile is the Prism, the most powerful man in the world. He is high priest and emperor, a man whose power, wit, and charm are all that preserves a tenuous peace. Yet Prisms never last, and Guile knows exactly how long he has left to live. When Guile discovers he has a son, born in a far kingdom after the war that put him in power, he must decide how much he's willing to pay to protect a secret that could tear his world apart.

The Name of the Wind

The Name of the Wind

2010 . Patrick Rothfuss

friendspire9.3
good-reads4.5/5
image
rate

About the book: The lyrical fantasy masterpiece about stories, legends and how they change the world. The Name of the Wind is an absolute must-read for any fan of fantasy fiction. 'This is a magnificent book' Anne McCaffrey 'I was reminded of Ursula K. Le Guin, George R. R. Martin, and J. R. R. Tolkein, but never felt that Rothfuss was imitating anyone' THE TIMES 'I have stolen princesses back from sleeping barrow kings. I burned down the town of Trebon. I have spent the night with Felurian and left with both my sanity and my life. I was expelled from the University at a younger age than most people are allowed in. I tread paths by moonlight that others fear to speak of during day. I have talked to Gods, loved women, and written songs that make the minstrels weep. My name is Kvothe. You may have heard of me' So begins the tale of Kvothe - currently known as Kote, the unassuming innkeepter - from his childhood in a troupe of traveling players, through his years spent as a near-feral orphan in a crime-riddled city, to his daringly brazen yet successful bid to enter a difficult and dangerous school of magic. In these pages you will come to know Kvothe the notorious magician, the accomplished thief, the masterful musician, the dragon-slayer, the legend-hunter, the lover, the thief and the infamous assassin. The Name of the Wind is fantasy at its very best, and an astounding must-read coming-of-age adventure. Readers adore The Name of the Wind: 'The quality of the writing breathes magic into even fairly ordinary scenes, and makes some of the important ones extraordinary' Mark Lawrence 'This is why I love fantasy so much . . . The writing style is smooth, the pacing just right . . . I would easily recommend this to anyone who enjoys fantasy, but also to people who enjoy great stories told wonderfully well' Goodreads reviewer, ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ 'For the love of God, if you haven't read this book and love these kinds of high fantasy novels, READ IT!' Goodreads reviewer, ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ 'The story is fantastic, the writing is amazing, and if you have a heart the main character will capture it' Goodreads reviewer, ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ 'Patrick Rothfuss is such a talented storyteller and there was never a dull moment throughout the entire book! . . . The Name of the Wind is a masterpiece and Patrick Rothfuss is a freaking genius' Goodreads reviewer, ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ 'This story was, simply put, excellent . . . Rothfuss has more than earnt his reputation. I'm so glad this book lived up to the hype . . . A jaw dropping five stars' Goodreads reviewer, ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ 'One of the best fantasy books of all time' Goodreads reviewer, ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ 'A legitimately wonderful story that is written beautifully . . . This should be one of the required reading books for any fan of fantasy' Goodreads reviewer, ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

image
rate

About the book: The lyrical fantasy masterpiece about stories, legends and how they change the world. The Name of the Wind is an absolute must-read for any fan of fantasy fiction. 'This is a magnificent book' Anne McCaffrey 'I was reminded of Ursula K. Le Guin, George R. R. Martin, and J. R. R. Tolkein, but never felt that Rothfuss was imitating anyone' THE TIMES 'I have stolen princesses back from sleeping barrow kings. I burned down the town of Trebon. I have spent the night with Felurian and left with both my sanity and my life. I was expelled from the University at a younger age than most people are allowed in. I tread paths by moonlight that others fear to speak of during day. I have talked to Gods, loved women, and written songs that make the minstrels weep. My name is Kvothe. You may have heard of me' So begins the tale of Kvothe - currently known as Kote, the unassuming innkeepter - from his childhood in a troupe of traveling players, through his years spent as a near-feral orphan in a crime-riddled city, to his daringly brazen yet successful bid to enter a difficult and dangerous school of magic. In these pages you will come to know Kvothe the notorious magician, the accomplished thief, the masterful musician, the dragon-slayer, the legend-hunter, the lover, the thief and the infamous assassin. The Name of the Wind is fantasy at its very best, and an astounding must-read coming-of-age adventure. Readers adore The Name of the Wind: 'The quality of the writing breathes magic into even fairly ordinary scenes, and makes some of the important ones extraordinary' Mark Lawrence 'This is why I love fantasy so much . . . The writing style is smooth, the pacing just right . . . I would easily recommend this to anyone who enjoys fantasy, but also to people who enjoy great stories told wonderfully well' Goodreads reviewer, ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ 'For the love of God, if you haven't read this book and love these kinds of high fantasy novels, READ IT!' Goodreads reviewer, ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ 'The story is fantastic, the writing is amazing, and if you have a heart the main character will capture it' Goodreads reviewer, ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ 'Patrick Rothfuss is such a talented storyteller and there was never a dull moment throughout the entire book! . . . The Name of the Wind is a masterpiece and Patrick Rothfuss is a freaking genius' Goodreads reviewer, ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ 'This story was, simply put, excellent . . . Rothfuss has more than earnt his reputation. I'm so glad this book lived up to the hype . . . A jaw dropping five stars' Goodreads reviewer, ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ 'One of the best fantasy books of all time' Goodreads reviewer, ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ 'A legitimately wonderful story that is written beautifully . . . This should be one of the required reading books for any fan of fantasy' Goodreads reviewer, ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

The Eye of the World

The Eye of the World

1990 . Robert Jordan

friendspire8.6
good-reads4.2/5
image
rate

About the book: The Wheel of Time is now an original series on Prime Video, starring Rosamund Pike as Moiraine! The Eye of the World, the first novel in Robert Jordan's #1 New York Times bestselling epic fantasy series, The Wheel of Time®, follows Moiraine Damodred as she arrives in Emond's Field on a quest to find the one prophesized to stand against The Dark One. The Wheel of Time turns and Ages come and pass, leaving memories that become legend. Legend fades to myth, and even myth is long forgotten when the Age that gave it birth returns again. What was, what will be, and what is, may yet fall under the Shadow. When a vicious band of half-men, half beasts invade the Two Rivers seeking their master’s enemy, Moiraine persuades Rand al’Thor and his friends to leave their home and enter a larger unimaginable world filled with dangers waiting in the shadows and in the light. Since its debut in 1990, The Wheel of Time® has captivated millions of readers around the globe with its scope, originality, and compelling characters. The last six books in series were all instant #1 New York Times bestsellers, and The Eye of the World was named one of America's best-loved novels by PBS's The Great American Read. The Wheel of Time® New Spring: The Novel #1 The Eye of the World #2 The Great Hunt #3 The Dragon Reborn #4 The Shadow Rising #5 The Fires of Heaven #6 Lord of Chaos #7 A Crown of Swords #8 The Path of Daggers #9 Winter's Heart #10 Crossroads of Twilight #11 Knife of Dreams By Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson #12 The Gathering Storm #13 Towers of Midnight #14 A Memory of Light By Robert Jordan and Teresa Patterson The World of Robert Jordan's The Wheel of Time By Robert Jordan, Harriet McDougal, Alan Romanczuk, and Maria Simons The Wheel of Time Companion By Robert Jordan and Amy Romanczuk Patterns of the Wheel: Coloring Art Based on Robert Jordan's The Wheel of Time

image
rate

About the book: The Wheel of Time is now an original series on Prime Video, starring Rosamund Pike as Moiraine! The Eye of the World, the first novel in Robert Jordan's #1 New York Times bestselling epic fantasy series, The Wheel of Time®, follows Moiraine Damodred as she arrives in Emond's Field on a quest to find the one prophesized to stand against The Dark One. The Wheel of Time turns and Ages come and pass, leaving memories that become legend. Legend fades to myth, and even myth is long forgotten when the Age that gave it birth returns again. What was, what will be, and what is, may yet fall under the Shadow. When a vicious band of half-men, half beasts invade the Two Rivers seeking their master’s enemy, Moiraine persuades Rand al’Thor and his friends to leave their home and enter a larger unimaginable world filled with dangers waiting in the shadows and in the light. Since its debut in 1990, The Wheel of Time® has captivated millions of readers around the globe with its scope, originality, and compelling characters. The last six books in series were all instant #1 New York Times bestsellers, and The Eye of the World was named one of America's best-loved novels by PBS's The Great American Read. The Wheel of Time® New Spring: The Novel #1 The Eye of the World #2 The Great Hunt #3 The Dragon Reborn #4 The Shadow Rising #5 The Fires of Heaven #6 Lord of Chaos #7 A Crown of Swords #8 The Path of Daggers #9 Winter's Heart #10 Crossroads of Twilight #11 Knife of Dreams By Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson #12 The Gathering Storm #13 Towers of Midnight #14 A Memory of Light By Robert Jordan and Teresa Patterson The World of Robert Jordan's The Wheel of Time By Robert Jordan, Harriet McDougal, Alan Romanczuk, and Maria Simons The Wheel of Time Companion By Robert Jordan and Amy Romanczuk Patterns of the Wheel: Coloring Art Based on Robert Jordan's The Wheel of Time

About the book: This boxed set includes the paperback editions of the complete Mistborn Trilogy--Mistborn, The Well of Ascension, and The Hero of Ages--by #1 New York Times bestselling author Brandon Sanderson. This wildly popular epic fantasy series is for ages 13 and up. Once, a hero rose to save the world. He failed. For a thousand years since, the world has been a wasteland of ash and mist ruled by the immortal emperor known as the Lord Ruler. Every revolt has failed miserably. Yet somehow, hope survives and a new kind of uprising is being planned-one that depends on the cunning of a brilliant criminal mastermind and the determination of an unlikely heroine: a teenage street urchin named Vin. Once, a hero rose to save the world and failed. This time, can a young heroine succeed? The Mistborn Trilogy was voted onto NPR's Top 100 Science-Fiction, Fantasy Books list. If you're a fan of fantasy and haven't read the Mistborn trilogy yet, you have no excuses. Go buy a copy. -Forbes on the Mistborn Trilogy

About the book: Young Fitz is the bastard son of the noble Prince Chivalry, raised in the shadow of the royal court by his father's gruff stableman. He is treated as an outcast by all the royalty except the devious King Shrewd, who has him secretly tutored in the arts of the assassin. For in Fitz's blood runs the magic Skill—and the darker knowledge of a child raised with the stable hounds and rejected by his family. As barbarous raiders ravage the coasts, Fitz is growing to manhood. Soon he will face his first dangerous, soul-shattering mission. And though some regard him as a threat to the throne, he may just be the key to the survival of the kingdom. Praise for Robin Hobb and Assassin's Apprentice “Fantasy as it ought to be written . . . Robin Hobb's books are diamonds in a sea of zircons.”—George R. R. Martin “A gleaming debut in the crowded field of epic fantasies . . . a delightful take on the powers and politics behind the throne.”—Publishers Weekly “This is the kind of book you fall into, and start reading slower as you get to the end, because you don't want it to be over.”—Steven Brust