Browser doesn't support javascript
8 Magical Books Like The Cruel Prince

8 Magical Books Like The Cruel Prince

By Books Like This One

0/9 rated

About the list

This list was created by Friendspire on 5 March 2021, based on a list of books by Books Like This One.

Reading is one of those hobbies that tends to stay with you for life. Sure, we might start reading children's books like Clifford The Big Red Dog, but as we get older, so too do the novels we read. It starts with a modest book, then it progresses to young adult novels, biographies, and classics. Reading takes us out of our daily lives and stresses, an
... Read more

Go to original article
image`
saved
rate

House of Earth and Blood

image 8.8

2020 | Sarah J. Maas

Rated by 74 people

A #1 New York Times bestseller! Sarah J. Maas's brand-new CRESCENT CITY series begins with House of Earth and Blood: the story of half-Fae and half-human Bryce Quinlan as she seeks revenge in a contemporary fantasy world of magic, danger, and searing romance. Bryce Quinlan had the perfect life—working hard all day and partying all night—until a demon murdered her closest friends, leaving her bereft, wounded, and alone. When the accused is behind bars but the crimes start up again, Bryce finds herself at the heart of the investigation. She’ll do whatever it takes to avenge their deaths. Hunt Athalar is a notorious Fallen angel, now enslaved to the Archangels he once attempted to overthrow. His brutal skills and incredible strength have been set to one purpose—to assassinate his boss’s enemies, no questions asked. But with a demon wreaking havoc in the city, he’s offered an irresistible deal: help Bryce find the murderer, and his freedom will be within reach. As Bryce and Hunt dig deep into Crescent City’s underbelly, they discover a dark power that threatens everything and everyone they hold dear, and they find, in each other, a blazing passion—one that could set them both free, if they’d only let it. With unforgettable characters, sizzling romance, and page-turning suspense, this richly inventive new fantasy series by #1 New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas delves into the heartache of loss, the price of freedom—and the power of love.

saved
rate
image`
saved
rate

Roar

image 7.5

2017 | Cora Carmack

Rated by 2 people

New York Times bestselling author Cora Carmack's young adult debut: Roar. In a land ruled and shaped by violent magical storms, power lies with those who control them. Aurora Pavan comes from one of the oldest Stormling families in existence. Long ago, the ungifted pledged fealty and service to her family in exchange for safe haven, and a kingdom was carved out from the wildlands and sustained by magic capable of repelling the world’s deadliest foes. As the sole heir of Pavan, Aurora's been groomed to be the perfect queen. She’s intelligent and brave and honorable. But she’s yet to show any trace of the magic she’ll need to protect her people. To keep her secret and save her crown, Aurora’s mother arranges for her to marry a dark and brooding Stormling prince from another kingdom. At first, the prince seems like the perfect solution to all her problems. He’ll guarantee her spot as the next queen and be the champion her people need to remain safe. But the more secrets Aurora uncovers about him, the more a future with him frightens her. When she dons a disguise and sneaks out of the palace one night to spy on him, she stumbles upon a black market dealing in the very thing she lacks—storm magic. And the people selling it? They’re not Stormlings. They’re storm hunters. Legend says that her ancestors first gained their magic by facing a storm and stealing part of its essence. And when a handsome young storm hunter reveals he was born without magic, but possesses it now, Aurora realizes there’s a third option for her future besides ruin or marriage. She might not have magic now, but she can steal it if she’s brave enough. Challenge a tempest. Survive it. And you become its master.

saved
rate
image`
saved
rate

From Blood and Ash

image 8.4

2020 | Jennifer L. Armentrout

Rated by 71 people

Captivating and action-packed, From Blood and Ash is a sexy, addictive, and unexpected fantasy perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Laura Thalassa. A Maiden… Chosen from birth to usher in a new era, Poppy’s life has never been her own. The life of the Maiden is solitary. Never to be touched. Never to be looked upon. Never to be spoken to. Never to experience pleasure. Waiting for the day of her Ascension, she would rather be with the guards, fighting back the evil that took her family, than preparing to be found worthy by the gods. But the choice has never been hers. A Duty… The entire kingdom’s future rests on Poppy’s shoulders, something she’s not even quite sure she wants for herself. Because a Maiden has a heart. And a soul. And longing. And when Hawke, a golden-eyed guard honor bound to ensure her Ascension, enters her life, destiny and duty become tangled with desire and need. He incites her anger, makes her question everything she believes in, and tempts her with the forbidden. A Kingdom… Forsaken by the gods and feared by mortals, a fallen kingdom is rising once more, determined to take back what they believe is theirs through violence and vengeance. And as the shadow of those cursed draws closer, the line between what is forbidden and what is right becomes blurred. Poppy is not only on the verge of losing her heart and being found unworthy by the gods, but also her life when every blood-soaked thread that holds her world together begins to unravel. Reviews for From Blood and Ash: "Dreamy, twisty, steamy escapism. Take me back!" -New York Times bestseller Wendy Higgins “Jennifer Armentrout has the power to control my emotions with every word she writes. From swooning to crying to racing through the pages to find out what happens next, I couldn't stop reading about Hawke and Poppy, and you won't be able to either.” - Brigid Kemmerer, New York Times Bestselling Author of A Curse So Dark and Lonely  “Action, adventure, sexiness, and angst! From Blood and Ash has it all and double that. So many feels and so many moments it made me cheer for the character. Read. This. Book! You'll be obsessed!” -  Tijan NYT bestselling author “From Blood and Ash is a phenomenal fantasy novel that is filled to the brim with danger, mystery and heart melting romance. I loved every single second of it and I couldn’t get enough of this new fantastical world. A heart stopping start to what is clearly going to be a stunning series, perfect for both those who love fantasy and those who are new to the genre. A must read.” Kayleigh, K-Books "If you think you are ready for From Blood and Ash, think again. Jennifer L. Armentrout has woven a new fantasy universe that will leave you reeling. Filled with action, heart wrenching twists and the most delicious romance, this unputdownable novel comes with a warning: keep a fan close by, because the temperatures are about to rise." Elena, The Bibliotheque Blo “In this exciting new novel by Jennifer L. Armentrout, she introduces a fantastical world filled with immense detail, and characters who are poignant and fierce, Jennifer truly has out done herself!” – BookBesties  “From Blood and Ash is a fantastic fantasy that will hook you immediately from the very first page! I loved every single moment and all of the characters are ones you will fall in love with! Jennifer L. Armentrout has done it again with her amazing writing skills and lots of detail! Get this book immediately!!!” - Amanda @Stuck In YA Books “Jennifer has stepped into the fantasy genre with this absolutely amazing novel. With characters you will love and more than a few twists and turns, get ready for one amazing adventure.” -Perpetual Fangirl "This magnificent book has so many pieces in it: fantasy, mystery, forbidden romance, supernatural, lies, deceit, betrayal, love, friendship, family. And so, so, so many secrets your head will be spinning. Jennifer L. Armentrout has created another masterpiece that I will be rushing to buy, and will be telling everyone to read it ASAP!" ~Jeraca @My Nose in YA Books “From Blood to Ash is the first high fantasy book from Jennifer L Armentrout, but hopefully not the last. Like all her other works, her ability to create worlds, create swoon worthy men, and feisty strong female characters is amazing. Fantasy, mystery, romance, betrayal, love, and steamy scenes, this book has it all.” - Lisa @ The Blonde Book Lover “From Blood & Ash is everything we love about JLA’s fantasy writing...pumped up on steroids. There’s epic world building and plot twists, a strong female lead, a swoon worthy book hottie, a steamy forbidden love story, and side characters that can’t help but steal your heart. My mind was blown by the end of this book.” - Kris S. (frantic4romantic) “Step into an exciting new fantasy world by Jennifer L. Armentrout, From Blood And Ash takes you on a fantastic ride with twists and turns galore. Characters you will love to laugh and cry with. A phenomenal start to an exciting new series.” - Lori Dunn an avid reader “From Blood and Ash was everything I wanted in a high fantasy novel. The myths, the legends, the epic romance, and an adventure that will keep you on your toes beginning to end. I couldn’t put the book down. Truly a brilliant start to what I believe will be yet another amazing series by Jennifer L. Armentrout." –Sabrina, Books Are My Life “Jennifer L. Armentrout takes her first step into the high fantasy genre with From Blood and Ash. A story of forbidden love, lies, secrets, and betrayal - it will leave you wanting more after the very last page.” - Love Just Is Books “From Blood and Ash is like reading my favorite book for first time.” - Raquel Herrera “With From Blood and Ash, Jennifer Armentrout successfully takes on the genre of high fantasy, proving, once again, that she is a master of her craft. Filled with epic adventure, forbidden romance, deceit, lies, and betrayal, FB&A draws you in from page one and refuses to let go!” - Erica, The Rest Just Falls Away “Jennifer L. Armentrout comes trough once again with From Blood and Ash as it kept me enthralled throughout the full book. You won't be able to put down this epic story once you start.” - Julalicious Book Paradise “From Blood and Ash strikes the perfect balance between fantasy and romance elements leaving the world feeling live in and full while allowing the relationship between the main characters feeling real and authentic.” - Nads Book Nook, Nadine Bergeron “Be prepared to spend your whole day reading From Blood and Ash. Once you start reading this high fantasy novel, you won't want to put it down.” - Love Book Triangle “From Blood and Ash is absolutely breath taking. JLA does what she does best by creating a fantastical world filled with romance, lies, betrayal, adventure and all things we love and expect from JLA characters that melt our hearts and steal our hearts and souls. I cannot wait for the next one!” - Pia Colon “From Blood and Ash, Jennifer L. Armentrout brought to life a high fantasy that is enthralling. Another masterful addition to my collection. Get ready to stay on your toes from start to end.” - Amy Oh, Reader by the Mountains “From Blood and Ash is the first high fantasy novel by Jennifer L Armentrout and she absolutely nails it. This is fantasy for skeptics and unbelievers because it makes you want to be a fantasy fan! This page turner makes you want to devour it in one night and at the same time savor every detail. Heart stopping and inspiring and grips you from page one.” – Tracy Kirby  “An intriguing puzzle of a world, a ruthless hero, a determine heroin, and a plot that will keep you up late, this book is one of the best I've read this year.” – Valerie from Stuck In Books “From Blood and Ash, a thrilling high fantasy that packs a punch, each page will leave you wanting more!” - Tracey, Books & Other Pursuits

saved
rate
image`
saved
rate

Red Rising

image 8.0

2014 | Pierce Brown

Rated by 26 people

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • Pierce Brown’s relentlessly entertaining debut channels the excitement of The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins and Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card.  “Red Rising ascends above a crowded dys­topian field.”—USA Today NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY, BUZZFEED, AND SHELF AWARENESS “I live for the dream that my children will be born free,” she says. “That they will be what they like. That they will own the land their father gave them.” “I live for you,” I say sadly. Eo kisses my cheek. “Then you must live for more.” Darrow is a Red, a member of the lowest caste in the color-coded society of the future. Like his fellow Reds, he works all day, believing that he and his people are making the surface of Mars livable for future generations. Yet he toils willingly, trusting that his blood and sweat will one day result in a better world for his children. But Darrow and his kind have been betrayed. Soon he discovers that humanity reached the surface generations ago. Vast cities and lush wilds spread across the planet. Darrow—and Reds like him—are nothing more than slaves to a decadent ruling class. Inspired by a longing for justice, and driven by the memory of lost love, Darrow sacrifices everything to infiltrate the legendary Institute, a proving ground for the dominant Gold caste, where the next generation of humanity’s overlords struggle for power.  He will be forced to compete for his life and the very future of civilization against the best and most brutal of Society’s ruling class. There, he will stop at nothing to bring down his enemies . . . even if it means he has to become one of them to do so. Praise for Red Rising “[A] spectacular adventure . . . one heart-pounding ride . . . Pierce Brown’s dizzyingly good debut novel evokes The Hunger Games, Lord of the Flies, and Ender’s Game. . . . [Red Rising] has everything it needs to become meteoric.”—Entertainment Weekly “Ender, Katniss, and now Darrow.”—Scott Sigler “Red Rising is a sophisticated vision. . . . Brown will find a devoted audience.”—Richmond Times-Dispatch Don’t miss any of Pierce Brown’s Red Rising Saga: RED RISING • GOLDEN SON • MORNING STAR • IRON GOLD • DARK AGE

saved
rate
crosss

Download our app and

discover great

  • movie
  • TV show
  • book
  • podcast
  • food & drink
  • movie
  • TV show
  • book
  • podcast
  • food & drink
  • movie
  • TV show
  • book
  • podcast
  • food & drink
  • movie
  • TV show
  • book
  • podcast
  • food & drink
  • movie
  • TV show
  • book
  • podcast
  • food & drink

recommendations

r