Browser doesn't support javascript
8 Poignant Books Like To Kill a Mockingbird

8 Poignant Books Like To Kill a Mockingbird

By Books Like This One

0/8 rated

About the list

Harper Lee’s iconic 1960 novel To Kill a Mockingbird is considered to be one of the best works of American literature. The coming of age novel, told through the eyes of 6-year-old Jean Lousie “Scout” Finch, brilliantly describes the injustice of race relations in the American South by depicting a rape trial of an innocent black man in a small town in Alabama in the 1930’s. Written in the height of the Civil Rights movement in the USA and directly after the period of McCarthyism, To Kill a Mockin... Read more

Go to original article
image`
saved
rate

The Heart is a Lonely Hunter

image 10.0

2000 | Carson McCullers

Rated by 1 people

A new trade paperback edition of McCullers's classic, on the 60th anniversary of its first publication. With the publication of her first novel, THE HEART IS A LONELY HUNTER, Carson McCullers, all of twenty-three, became a literary sensation. With its profound sense of moral isolation and its compassionate glimpses into its characters' inner lives, the novel is considered McCullers' finest work, an enduring masterpiece first published by Houghton Mifflin in 1940. At its center is the deaf-mute John Singer, who becomes the confidant for all various types of misfits in a Georgia mill town during the 1930s. Each one yearns for escape from small town life. When Singer's mute companion goes insane, Singer moves into the Kelly house, where Mick Kelly, the book's heroine (and loosely based on McCullers), finds solace in her music. Wonderfully attune to the spiritual isolation that underlies the human condition, and with a deft sense for racial tensions in the South, McCullers spins a haunting, unforgettable story that gives voice to the rejected, the forgotten, and the mistreated -- and, through Mick Kelly, gives voice to the quiet, intensely personal search for beauty. Richard Wright praised Carson McCullers for her ability "to rise above the pressures of her environment and embrace white and black humanity in one sweep of apprehension and tenderness." She writes "with a sweep and certainty that are overwhelming," said the NEW YORK TIMES. McCullers became an overnight literary sensation, but her novel has endured, just as timely and powerful today as when it was first published. THE HEART IS A LONELY HUNTER is Carson McCullers at her most compassionate, endearing best.

saved
rate
image`
saved
rate

The Grapes of Wrath

image 8.3

2014 | John Steinbeck

Rated by 13 people

April 2014 marks the 75th anniversary of the first Viking hardcover publication of Steinbeck's crowning literary achievement First published in 1939, Steinbeck's Pulitzer Prize?winning epic of the Great Depression chronicles the Dust Bowl migration of the 1930s and tells the story of one Oklahoma farm family, the Joads, driven from their homestead and forced to travel west to the promised land of California. Out of their trials and their repeated collisions against the hard realities of an America divided into haves and have-nots evolves a drama that is intensely human yet majestic in its scale and moral vision, elemental yet plainspoken, tragic but ultimately stirring in its human dignity. A portrait of the conflict between the powerful and the powerless, of one man's fierce reaction to injustice, and of one woman's stoical strength, the novel captures the horrors of the Great Depression and probes the very nature of equality and justice in America. As Don DeLillo has claimed, Steinbeck ?shaped a geography of conscience” with this novel where ?there is something at stake in every sentence.” Beyond that?for emotional urgency, evocative power, sustained impact, prophetic reach, and continued controversy?The Grapes of Wrath is perhaps the most American of American classics. To commemorate the book's 75th anniversary, this volume is modeled on the first edition, featuring the original cover illustration by Elmer Hader and specially designed endpapers by Michael Schwab.

saved
rate
Download
our app