Browser doesn't support javascript
8 Whimsical Books Like The Hobbit

8 Whimsical Books Like The Hobbit

“In a hole in the ground there lived a hobbit.” I was 8 when I first read The Hobbit and it was that opening line that hooked me. Bilbo Baggins is now one of the most famous fantasy characters of all time and there are many books like The Hobbit that drew inspiration from his adventure. Despite his flaws, (grumpy, a bit useless at first) Bilbo soon wins your heart over. There are so many touch points to love (the way he tricks 3 trolls who want to eat him, his liberation of a certain magic rin... Read more

Go to original article
image

The Girl Who Drank the Moon (Winner of the 2017 Newbery Medal)

2016 | Kelly Barnhill

Winner of the 2017 Newbery Award The New York Times Bestseller An Entertainment Weekly Best Middle Grade Book of 2016 A New York Public Library Best Book of 2016 A Chicago Public Library Best Book of 2016 An Amazon Top 20 Best Book of 2016 A Publishers Weekly Best Book of 2016 A School Library Journal Best Book of 2016 Named to KirkusReviews’ Best Books of 2016 2017 Booklist Youth Editors’ Choice Every year, the people of the Protectorate leave a baby as an offering to the witch who lives in the forest. They hope this sacrifice will keep her from terrorizing their town. But the witch in the Forest, Xan, is kind. She shares her home with a wise Swamp Monster and a Perfectly Tiny Dragon. Xan rescues the children and delivers them to welcoming families on the other side of the forest, nourishing the babies with starlight on the journey. One year, Xan accidentally feeds a baby moonlight instead of starlight, filling the ordinary child with extraordinary magic. Xan decides she must raise this girl, whom she calls Luna, as her own. As Luna’s thirteenth birthday approaches, her magic begins to emerge--with dangerous consequences. Meanwhile, a young man from the Protectorate is determined to free his people by killing the witch. Deadly birds with uncertain intentions flock nearby. A volcano, quiet for centuries, rumbles just beneath the earth’s surface. And the woman with the Tiger’s heart is on the prowl . . . The Newbery Medal winner from the author of the highly acclaimed novel The Witch’s Boy.

image

The Nethergrim

2014 | Matthew Jobin

The next great fantasy epic is here! For fans of Ranger's Apprentice and The Chronicles of Narnia. Everyone in Moorvale believes the legend: The brave knight Tristan and the famed wizard Vithric, in an epic battle decades ago, had defeated the evil Nethergrim and his minions. To this day, songs are sung and festivals held in the heroes' honor. Yet now something dark has crept over the village. First animals disappear, their only remains a pile of bones licked clean. Then something worse: children disappear. The whispers begin quietly yet soon turn into a shout: The Nethergrim has returned! Edmund's brother is one of the missing, and Edmund knows he must do something to save his life. But what? Though a student of magic, he struggles to cast even the simplest spell. Still, he and his friends swallow their fear and set out to battle an ancient evil whose powers none of them can imagine. They will need to come together--and work apart--in ways that will test every ounce of resolve. In a story reminiscent of the Ranger's Apprentice epic and The Chronicles of Narnia, Matthew Jobin weaves reality, magic, and adventure into the next great fantasy phenomenon. Praise for THE NETHERGRIM "This series starter is reminiscent of epic fantasy series such as C.S. Lewis' The Chronicles of Narnia or J.R.R. Tolkien's The Lord of the Rings. The characters are strongly drawn and . . . [t]here is a compelling blend of magic, romance, looming evil, and noble sacrifice.--VOYA "The Nethergrim reminded me of a cross between The Lord of the Rings and Harry Potter. . . I would really like to see this one on the big screen." -Brodart's Library Services "Entertainingly told with many unique features, The Nethergrim reads like a classic." -Recommended by Richard C., Powells.com [Staff Pick at Powell's Books] "I'd go ahead and say everything about this book screams BLOCKBUSTER FILM."--The Social Potato Reviews "Riveting. Perfect for imaginative middle-grade readers craving a hearty magical adventure."--Booklist "Fantasy fans will find much to enjoy in this elegant gem of a novel."--BCCB "First in a planned trilogy, this is a solid debut for anthropologist Jobin, who steers clear of genre cliches while offering up a refreshingly metaphysical take on magic, a believably dark setting filled with unusual threats, and a seductive and manipulative villain."--Publishers Weekly

Download
our app