Browser doesn't support javascript
9 Mystical Books Like The Night Circus

9 Mystical Books Like The Night Circus

By Books Like This One

0/10 rated

About the list

Erin Morgenstern has become quite the literary sensation therefore it is no surprise that readers are on the hunt for more books like The Night Circus, her stunning 2011 debut. Morgenstern’s haunting prose weaves what can only be described as a phantasmagorical fairy tale full of love, fate, honour, mystery and magic. The wandering Les Cirque des Rêves (The Circus of Dreams) is so much more than your average circus, there are acrobats without safety nets, cloud mazes, magical gardens made out o... Read more

Go to original article
image`
saved
rate

The Shadow of the Wind

image 8.6

2011 | Carlos Ruiz Zafon

Rated by 32 people

'This is one gorgeous read.' Stephen King It is 1945 and Barcelona is enduring the long aftermath of civil war when Daniel Sempere’s bookseller father decides his son is old enough to visit the secret Cemetery of Forgotten Books. There Daniel must ‘adopt’ a single book, promising to care for it and keep it alive always. His choice falls on The Shadow of the Wind. Bewitched, he embarks on an epic quest to find the truth about Julian Carax, the book’s mysterious author. Soon Daniel is consumed by strange discoveries about love and obsession, art and life, and how they become entangled within the shadow world of books. The Shadow of the Wind is a mesmerising love story and literary thriller, which twists and turns and enthralls with its cast of vengeful souls, threatening spectres and innocent hearts. Carlos Ruiz Zafón was born in Barcelona in 1964 and attended university there. He worked as a screenwriter in Los Angeles for ten years before the publication of his fifth book, The Shadow of the Wind, in 2001. It has been translated into over 40 languages and was a finalist for the Premio Fernando Lara. Ruiz Zafón is now a full-time novelist and regular contributor to the newspapers El Pais, La Vanguardia and El Mundo. He lives in Barcelona. textpublishing.com.au ‘Atmospheric, beguiling and thoroughly readable.’ Observer ‘A popular masterpiece, an instant classic.’ Daily Telegraph ‘Utterly unputdownable.’ Australian ‘Wondrous...intended for readers as passionate about storytelling as its young hero.’ Who Weekly ‘An intoxicating and thoroughly irresistible mix of romance, mystery, gothic horror and melodrama.’ Vogue ‘I’d like to say more about this superbly entertaining book but don’t dare to hint any more about its plot twists. Suffice it to say...anyone who enjoys novels that are scary, erotic, touching, tragic and thrilling should rush right out to the nearest bookstore and pick up The Shadow of the Wind. Really, you should.’ Washington Post

saved
rate
image`
saved
rate

The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue

image 8.3

2020 | V. E. Schwab

Rated by 102 people

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER USA TODAY BESTSELLER NATIONAL INDIE BESTSELLER THE WASHINGTON POST BESTSELLER Recommended by Entertainment Weekly, Real Simple, NPR, Slate, and Oprah Magazine #1 Library Reads Pick—October 2020 #1 Indie Next Pick—October 2020 BOOK OF THE YEAR (2020) FINALIST—Book of The Month Club A “Best Of” Book From: Oprah Mag * CNN * Amazon * Amazon Editors * NPR * Goodreads * Bustle * PopSugar * BuzzFeed * Barnes & Noble * Kirkus Reviews * Lambda Literary * Nerdette * The Nerd Daily * Polygon * Library Reads * io9 * Smart Bitches Trashy Books * LiteraryHub * Medium * BookBub * The Mary Sue * Chicago Tribune * NY Daily News * SyFy Wire * Powells.com * Bookish * Book Riot * Library Reads Voter Favorite * In the vein of The Time Traveler’s Wife and Life After Life, The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue is New York Times bestselling author V. E. Schwab’s genre-defying tour de force. A Life No One Will Remember. A Story You Will Never Forget. France, 1714: in a moment of desperation, a young woman makes a Faustian bargain to live forever—and is cursed to be forgotten by everyone she meets. Thus begins the extraordinary life of Addie LaRue, and a dazzling adventure that will play out across centuries and continents, across history and art, as a young woman learns how far she will go to leave her mark on the world. But everything changes when, after nearly 300 years, Addie stumbles across a young man in a hidden bookstore and he remembers her name.

saved
rate
Download
our app