Browser doesn't support javascript
The Andy Griffith Show

The Andy Griffith Show

1960 . Comedy, Family, Sitcom . 25 m

image 7.5

6 total


15K total

The Andy Griffith Show

Where to watch The Andy Griffith Show

The Andy Griffith Show is available on six different streaming services: Apple TVGooglePlayAmazon Prime VideoDirectTVMicrosoft StorefuboTV. Click below to see details.

About the TV show

The Andy Griffith Show is an American sitcom first televised on CBS between October 3, 1960 and April 1, 1968. Andy Griffith portrays the widowed sheriff of the fictional small community of Mayberry, North Carolina. His life is complicated by an inept, but well-meaning deputy, Barney Fife, a spinster aunt and housekeeper, Aunt Bee, and a precocious young son, Opie. Local ne'er-do-wells, bumbling pals, and temperamental girlfriends further complicate his life. Andy Griffith stated in a Today Show interview, with respect to the time period of the show: "Well, though we never said it, and though it was shot in the '60s, it had a feeling of the '30s. It was when we were doing it, of a time gone by." The series never placed lower than seventh in the Nielsen ratings and ended its final season at number one. It has been ranked by TV Guide as the 9th-best show in American television history. Though neither Griffith nor the show won awards during its eight-season run, series co-stars Knotts and Bavier accumulated a combined total of six Emmy Awards. The show, a semi-spin-off from an episode of The Danny Thomas Show titled "Danny Meets Andy Griffith", spawned its own spin-off series, Gomer Pyle, U.S.M.C., a sequel series, Mayberry R.F.D., and a reunion telemovie, Return to Mayberry. The show's enduring popularity has generated a good deal of show-related merchandise. Reruns currently air on TV Land, and the complete series is available on DVD. All eight seasons are also now available by streaming video services such as Netflix.






03 Oct 1960

Original Title:

The Andy Griffith Show


Comedy, Family, Sitcom

Episode Length:

25 m


Won 6 Primetime Emmys. 14 wins & 5 nominations total


small town, sheriff, north carolina, jail, courthouse, widower, aunt nephew relationship, americana, small town sheriff, sitcom, wisdom, justice of the peace, father son relationship

Season Overview

Season 1:

32 episodes · 1960

Season 2:

31 episodes · 1961

Season 3:

32 episodes · 1962

Season 4:

32 episodes · 1963

Season 5:

32 episodes · 1964

Season 6:

30 episodes · 1965

Season 7:

30 episodes · 1966

Season 8:

30 episodes · 1967

Who’s starring in it?

Similar TV shows you haven’t seen

The Dick Van Dyke Show
Gomer Pyle, U.S.M.C.
The Beverly Hillbillies
Green Acres
The Carol Burnett Show
Steptoe and Son

Oh hey there 👋

To take that action, you gotta
download Friendspire or
log in to your account